Who Am I and Why I’m Here

 

Hi! I am Andrea Michaela G. Nano. I’m a 17-year-old book blogger and bookstagrammer from the sunny Philippines. I am currently studying in University of Santo Tomas and I am a Senior High School taking up Humanities and Social Sciences.

I started blogging because I am ardent about books. My books are my home. They give me comfort when times get rough and books made it so easy to escape the scary giant which we call reality. I say this all the time and I’m not hesitant to say it again, reality sucks. This is the main reason why I read books – to escape reality. I love the fictional world and its characters. My books made me feel that I have a reason to live, well, other than God and my family. Some people may not understand it, but whenever I read books, it makes me feel butterflies in my stomach. They make me happy. The reason why I say ‘reality sucks’ is because I am diagnosed with Anxiety and Depression with a hint of Dysthymia. It’s hard to live in a world where I felt like I’m not welcome and wanted. Having anxiety and depression is like fighting with your own mind. I find it hard to understand myself sometimes – to cry for no reason, having a hard time to breath and can’t sleep at times.

Here in my blog, will contain mostly of book reviews and book hauls. I wanted to let other people know about my opinion in the books I have read so they can know if its worth reading or not. Occasionally, I’ll post my writings – feature articles, poetry, short stories and a weekly update about myself which is Life Support. I thought of Life Support as a way to let other people know how I feel and my coping mechanisms while having mental illnesses. And of course, to those who experience it can relate to me as well. I want them to know that they matter like I do. It may be hard at times but eventually, in God’s perfect time, we can get out in our horrible sickness and finally look at ourselves they way our loved ones sees us – a blessing.

I hope along this journey with my books, you come with me too. I want to connect with you and to make you feel wanted, that you matter. And to be honest, that’s an accomplishment for me.

Where to find me:

Instagram: @riareadventures

Twitter: @riareadventures

Or you can personally email me at: riareadventures@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “Who Am I and Why I’m Here

  1. When I was a teenager, I shared your sentiments. I was an only child and during that difficult phase where everyone is discovering their adulthood, I was pushed aside for many reasons. Books was what kept me going. Writing and photography kept me alive. I just want to tell you one thing: you are not alone. Just like me, you are one of countless teenagers going through that difficult period of your life. I know you can get through it. Pour yourself into your writing and take comfort between the leaves of the worlds you want to be in. You’ll make it.

    Oh, and welcome to the blogging world! I am so happy to find another book blogger!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome! You are certainly lot alone. If you search around in the places you love, you will find many more like yourself. 😀 We’re here and we are waiting.

        Like

Leave a Reply

